Time To Eat The Elephant…

Today is the day I will write….most of the day. My plan is a simple one, sit down with a pot of coffee and finish A Late Summer Bloom, book one in my Witches Of The Bayou series. After I have completed yet another round of reading and edits, I will polish my story and send it off. But, not before creating a synopsis. Sometimes, these little paragraphs can be a daunting challenge. Tell me your 65K word story in 500 words or less. Uh? Really? Trust me, not an easy task. I think I spent more time on my first synopsis than I ever thought I would. Until…. I read a blog by a fellow author and she put it in a way that, for me, clicked. Your synopsis should be like book report. So, I dusted off my thinking hat, willed my brain back to the fourth grade and wala…a great synopsis! I sold my book. But, I still get writers block at the thought of creating these mini versions of my work. I stare at the screen, fingers hovered over the keyboard, and my mind races through my story at a maddening pace until I throw my hands up in the air and leave the table. There’s too much information to squeeze into one or two pages, it can’t be done!  It just can’t! After my hissy fit, which I’m sure I’ll have, my husband will calm me with his good advice. He’ll say, “How do you eat an elephant? …. One bite at a time.”   So, I will be eating an elephant today, what are you doing?   

Thanks for commenting on Ready, Set, Blog

